Skip to content

Prayer

One time my friend Malena came over to spend the night. Before we went to sleep we decided to pray. In our prayer, we included not having to go to school the next day because it was a school night and it was snowing. When we were done praying, my dad walked in the room and told us that the school called and said that we were out of school. We started cheering and screaming! My friend and I were surprised that he answered our prayers that quickly.

Weeks later my great-grandmother was in the hospital. She was having heart failure. I prayed every night that she would be better soon. God answered my prayers, but I wasn’t happy with his answer because I felt that he was telling me to wait. I thought it took too long.

Also I was having bad dreams every night for a long time. I prayed to God every night that he would keep me from having the bad dreams. Even though I was praying, I was still having bad dreams. My mom was telling me that God doesn’t always answer our prayers the way that we want him to. I was confused that he wasn’t keeping me from having them. This year I actually am having less bad dreams than last year so I feel that this time God is answering with yes. At church we were learning that God doesn’t always answer our prayers the way that we want him to. He can answer in yes, no or maybe.

My mom taught me what God wants for us is best. He loves us and cares about what we want, but what we want isn’t always the best. That is what I learned about prayer.

This is a picture from one of our snow days.

This is a picture of Malena and me. We are holding our American girl dolls.  Malena is a kind and encouraging friend who helps me through hard times.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

