Skip to content

Heartbroken and Helpless

Watching the events unfold in Somalia over the last several days has left me feeling two things:  heartbroken and helpless.  Hearing stories of mothers and children starving to death and mothers finally making it to the border for assistance with dead babies on their backs reminds me of this temporal world and our hope in the life to come.  I continue to whisper under my breath Jesus come quickly. God save them.

There is also a crisis here, but it’s a spiritual famine.  As I was reading an update on Somalia in the paper this morning, I once again felt heartbroken and helpless but it was over the comments I read from other readers.  They said, “you reap what you sow,” “LET THE ENTIRE COUNTRY STARVE!!!!!!” and “OMG!!! Give birth control programs to these people asap, they keep having babies like a bunch of rabbits!”  This spiritual death provokes the same prayer in me as the physical death:  God save them.

The issues look different but both are evidence that we are in need of a Savior.  It may take stripping us of all we have to see our need.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amy #

    The comments on most articles disappoint me. It seems that the people who comment on anything newsworthy speak the loudest and with no heart for people. Views of the world and no view of forever. Sad.

    July 24, 2011
    • Amy, I usually try to avoid the comments for that reason. I guess I was hoping for something different today. “no view of forever” – I like the way you worded that.

      July 24, 2011
  2. It amazes me how cold we can be when the suffering is far from home.

    I was convicted a couple of weeks ago by 1 John 3:17 – If someone has enough money to live well and sees a brother or sister in need but shows no compassion—how can God’s love be in that person?

    July 24, 2011
    • I agree, Larry. The distance makes us cold. If our children were dying on our backs, our compassion would change.

      July 24, 2011

Leave a Reply

