Skip to content

I Used To… But Now…

I used to believe God was distant, looking upon me with disapproval, wanting me to pull myself together so He could accept me.

I now believe He’s really close to me, holding me together, accepting me because in Christ, I have been made righteous.

I used to believe sin was my identity, that it could not be overcome because it was too powerful, and I was crushed beneath the weight of its reign.

I now believe righteousness is my identity; I struggle with sin, but the flesh can be subdued by the Spirit, and I have been set free from the bondage of its power.

I used to believe people weren’t safe.  I should be independent.  They were out to get me and hurt me, and I needed to defend myself.

I now believe I need people.  I need the Body of Christ.  I was meant to live in community. There is safety in the shelter of those who will speak truth into my life, those who know the depths of my heart and allow me to know them.

I used to believe a husband, children, home, school system, etc. could bring comfort and security.  They could meet the deepest needs and bring rest.

I now believe I shall have no other gods before Him.  He is the only one who can meet our needs.  No one else on earth was designed for those purposes.

In writing my last belief “pair,” you will notice I didn’t cross out the “I used to believe.”  I did and had to undo it.  This is still a great struggle for me, and I want to be honest.  God is still working on my heart in this area.

What lie did you once believe that God has now made clear to you?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Karen Rehkopf #

    I once believed (the lie) that I should not bother others with my problems or concerns or even sin, oh no! God made it clear years ago that not only am I called to communicate these matters with Him, but also with those following Him within a biblical community. Sweet relief! While I do find myself trying to revert when I’m overwhelmed, Christian community brings both the accountability and freedom I hope for in life… plus the encouragement from others brings about a much needed boldness. I don’t expect to ever fully master this, probably another reminder of a lifelong commitment to living in such community to battle the lie.

    July 28, 2011
    • Such a good example. I’m glad you share now because I want to hear it. 🙂 Good word, Karen.

      July 28, 2011
  2. I love this post! Brought to mind some things that I “used to” but now believe because of HIS redemption! Blessings!

    July 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

