Skip to content

Clear Eyes & Guards

Evidently, I have been clinching my jaws when I sleep at night.  I found this out at my last visit to the dentist.  I mentioned soreness when I brush even though it had gone away before my visit.  Because it had gone away, I wouldn’t have made a special appointment. Clinching can cause some pretty serious consequences, so they gave solutions for the behavior to stop.  Since the visit, I have woken up many times noticing myself clinching and then with sore teeth in the morning.  The fact that I can’t see my behavior clearly doesn’t make it any less present, and the consequences begin to show themselves whether I can admit what has been pointed out to me or not.

Sometimes people in our life have the ability to point out things we are not able to see in ourselves.  Maybe we are ready to tell them about the pain but because it is dwindling that day, we back off because there is no special appointment — isolation keeps its grip.  Have you ever noticed that when someone points out things we need to deal with, we begin to notice that maybe they’re right?  It may be hard to hear, but the consequences of our sin are becoming painful.  We get to a point where we have to act.  So, where do we go from here?

I started wearing a mouth guard last night.  I don’t like it, but it’s for my own good.  It’s a guard, my accountability of sorts.  It’s to protect me from further consequence of ruining my teeth.  Now, I don’t want to stop here.  I want to get to the root of the problem — no pun intended.  I want to know why I’m clinching.  If there is something deeper, I need to dig, but if I am always prone to clinch, I may always need guards.  We need people who can speak gospel-truth into our lives.  As hard as it may be to hear, we need to accept that they may be able to see things in us that we cannot see in ourselves and allow them to set up guards for protection.

How willing are you to accept the wisdom and direction of others when they see things you can’t see in yourself?  How willing are you to reprove others and then help them set up guards for their own protection?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

