Skip to content

Affirming Limitations

Earlier in the week, I wrote a post about our family schedule, and in it, confessed how I crumble under busyness.  I’ve recently learned a major limitation of mine — I don’t handle a busy schedule well.  More specifically, I get extremely overwhelmed to the point that I want to withdraw.  Because I have lower back and migraine trouble, physically I don’t handle a busy schedule well, either.  There has been great freedom in this revelation, but there has also been great freedom in having friends affirm my limitations.

We must face the reality (found in Christ) of our limitations; we are free (in Christ) to boast of our limitations.  In facing the reality of limits and being set free from what once clouded our view, we will be more effective for ministry.  Yes, limits equal strength.  God wants those who rely on Him for Kingdom work.  Those who rely on self aren’t doing His work.

There has also been an unfolding of other feelings since this revelation, and I’m sure there will be more working in the weeks and months to come.  I’ve battled with fear and shame over my limitations and unrealistic thoughts.  That should come as no surprise.  When God reveals something good and necessary, the devil will try to distort it.  I am grateful for the men and women in my life who have continued to speak the gospel into my heart and mind so that I do not become a slave to the untruths that could entrap me.

Paul David Tripp recently wrote a blog entitled “You Have Limits, You Really Do!”  A portion of his post reads,
“Only when I humbly embrace my weakness, humbly admit my limits, and humbly recognize how small I actually am, can I begin to reach out for the help of the loving, powerful, and gracious Redeemer who is the true source of my strength, wisdom, and hope. Only then can I begin to function as an instrument in his powerful hands, rather than being in his way; because in forgetting who I am and who he is, I’ve been trying to do his job.  
You don’t have to fear your limits. They were designed by the God who is the definition of everything that is knowledgeable, understanding, wise, and true. Your limits are not a flaw in his creative plan. They are the product of his wise choice and the fulfillment of his intentions. God made you limited, in exactly the way you are.” Paul Tripp (for the rest of the note, read here)

Do you know your limits?  Have you admitted them?  Confession of those limits may make you more effective.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

