Skip to content

Broken and Beautiful

Most seasons, I empty flower pots to replace old flowers with new ones that can withstand the weather of the upcoming season.  At the end of one fall, when my girls were little, I was dumping mums from a large pot onto the driveway to make way for purple and yellow pansies to get ready for the winter months.  My girls became very upset because the mums were still blooming and starting whining, “Oh, no, Mommy! Oh, no, Mommy!”  I assured them that I was making the pot more beautiful and when I was finished, they would understand.

Sometimes, it looks like God is breaking things when he’s really making them more beautiful.  We panic and begin to question why he is tearing something down that looked good in the first place.  Maybe he wants good to be great.  Maybe what’s crushed is finally brought to life when it is planted in its correct elements by hands that are life-giving.  Like children who couldn’t see that mums would die in frost, we are blind to the insight that God has into the future.  He knows better because He is beyond and before us.

Does it look as if God is turning your life upside down?  Crushing what you think is already beautiful?  Digging you up to place you somewhere else?  He knows something you don’t know.  He sees something you can’t see.  Brokenness should not be rejected; refining is a blessing to our spiritual growth.  Embrace the difficulties in order to bloom and flourish.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nice. Very nice!

    August 15, 2011
  2. What a great illustration to convey a message that I can’t heat enough- thanks!

    August 15, 2011
  3. Very true and I needed that reminder. Thanks!

    August 16, 2011
    • Thanks, Katie. My kids have a way of helping me see how I view God.

      August 16, 2011
  4. Lisa #

    Great illustration! Thanks for the reminder!

    August 16, 2011
  5. cheryl #

    I loved that..how sweet.. Cheryl

    August 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

