Skip to content

Lessons in Parenting from the Perfect Father

Hearing and putting into practice a new lesson from God can often be like a fawn testing her legs.  We hear. We practice.  We stumble.  Slide.  Fail.  Get up and, in obedience, try again.  I’m in the midst of God teaching me something new.  I failed today.  God wasn’t harsh in his reminding.  He didn’t say I told you so.  He said I told you.  Listen to me.  In the reminder, I felt grace.  Not rebuke.  Not condemnation.  Grace that he cares to continue to guide.

What a great lesson for parenting!  How many times I tell my kids something and expect them to pop up on their feeble legs and get it the first time!  Many times I shame them or watch them fail on wobbly legs without giving them the opportunity to practice.  I’m not speaking of disobedience; I understand there is a time for rebuke — I’m only speaking of times of new instruction.  I hope that my attitude will be more of one of reminding rather than that of I told you so.

Walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace. Ephesians 4:1-3

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

