Skip to content

Try Harder Do Not

The first 20 years of my Christian walk could be described in many ways, but right now, I’m going to focus on two words that still creep in and haunt me — try harder.  If you’re like me, you don’t really like these two either, but you still invite them over occasionally, have them at your table, and before you know it, they’ve overstayed their welcome and somehow made you believe they fit into this Christian life.  So, like any lie, we must dispel and withdraw the invitation of this guest.

We are not relying on performance but grace.  

God’s love is not contingent on our human effort.  

Stop trying harder.

If those sentences did not just register with you.  Read them until your eyes bleed.  When I really realized it was not within my power to be good enough, the chains fell off.

I cannot be good enough as a Christian.

I cannot be good enough as a wife.

I cannot be good enough as a mother.

Christ. is. my. righteousness.

He won it for me.

It has been accomplished.

We must cling to the gospel promise that God is pleased with us because he is pleased with Jesus.”  (The Gospel-Centered Life)  The pressure is off.  Rest in what He has done.  Repay Him for what He has done with love and gratitude from the depths of your heart.

“so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God,  not a result of works, so that no one may boast.” Ephesians 2:7-9

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Tara Lewis #

    Great post, Suzanne. There is so much freedom in knowing that there is nothing I can do, or not do, to make Him pleased with me. He already is! I have to remind myself of this on a regular basis. It’s crazy how often I tend to forget. Thank you for the reminder today!

    September 12, 2011
  2. Katie Cordell #

    Thank You Suzanne for these refreshing words and a great reminder!

    September 12, 2011
  3. Suzanne, this used to be a huge struggle for me too. And, sometimes, it still rears it’s ugly head. The pep talk I have been repeating every time I get into that cycle…Less striving…More seeking. It refocuses me.

    September 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

