Skip to content

One Thing Is Necessary

I am so overwhelmed with distractions that quiet and still feel like absolute chaos.  Do you feel that?

Since writing my posts on simplifying the family schedule and limitations in my life, I have heard from many of you.  I have heard a common theme of I don’t handle busyness well.  I can’t keep up with my schedule.  I keep forgetting to get this for my kid or turn in that.  How do other people do it?  I have one thing to say:  

You are not alone.

Well, I actually have more to say.  Busyness is not a badge of honor.  We are not winning any awards by running ourselves crazy. As a matter a fact, Jesus said, there is something better.  “But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, ‘Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.’ But the Lord answered her, ‘Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.'” (Luke 10:40-45)  So, what was the “good portion” Mary had chosen?”  If Martha was distracted, anxious and troubled, what was her sister choosing to do?  “… And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching (vs. 39).”

What would it look like for us to sit at the Lord’s feet and listen to his teaching?  Should we undo some things to enable ourselves to sit?  Maybe leaving the box on the calendar blank and not feeling the need to fill it with a lunch date.  Maybe saying “no” and not worrying what others think of us when we turn down an event. Maybe enjoying the quiet and not thinking that sitting still is a waste of time.  We must banish the idol of busy and self to honor the “one thing that is necessary.”

What if God wants to speak, but I’m too distracted?  What if I need to listen, but I continue to turn up the volume?  How can I afford to not sit at the feet of the only one can save me from my anxiety and troubles in this world?

What can you undo this week to sit at the Lord’s feet and listen to his teaching?

For more reading on this topic, check out Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver.

And, because our lives are full no matter what we eliminate, I posted an easy recipe for extremely hectic days this fall.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I have had to change my perspective from I didn’t have time to I didn’t make time. I am really busy but yet I still have time to blog, read blogs, watch TV, and play silly games on my iPod. I choose to do what’s important to me. I have tried to organize my life a little bit better so that I can say no to some of the chaos that often causes me to make excuses about not having time for the things that are important. Great thoughts today!

    September 19, 2011
    • Thanks, Rob. So very true – “change my perspective from I didn’t have time to I didn’t make time.” I hope I can get better at discerning what is the chaos I need to say no to.

      September 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

