Skip to content

Relying In The Good

Things are pretty good right now.  I know that could change before this post is published, but for now, things in my life are going well.  My family is healthy.  We have meals together and play in the yard with our kids. We have enough money.  The one focus that continues to come to my mind in this time of “good” is how to depend on God when my life is going well.

We often teach those who are suffering how to depend on God, but I usually find it is not difficult to depend on God when I am at my lowest.  When I am on my back, I usually have nowhere to look but “up.”  But where do I look when I am already “up?”

I’ve been convicted in this time of plenty that I rely too much on myself.  Day in and day out, I try to work things out on my own without looking to God.  When I cross a conflict, I remember He is there and pray. When this self-sufficiency was brought to my attention, I began to pray for ways to be more aware of dependency on God.

There have been two meditations of my heart that I hope will help you rely on God if you are in a “good” time:

1.  Looking back remembering how He has provided.

There have been times when marriage was not so good, health was not great, and we didn’t know how bills would be paid.  We don’t look back on the “bad” during the “good” to rehash the pain.  We look back to remember that the same God who met us there is the same God who meets us here, and we don’t need Him any less now than we did then.  Acknowledging our need for a Savior in the midst of self-sufficiency is true need.

2.  Looking forward memorizing how He is providing.

In your time of good, memorize the healthy faces of your children.  Take a mental picture of the paycheck. Savor the hug of your spouse.  Hold on to these times when things are going well, impress them on your mind, store them up in your heart, so that you will remember God’s goodness to you.  When you enter times of trouble, God will sustain you, and you will have snapshots of His kindness in your memory.

Whatever God sends your way, He is good to you.  All is grace (as we are reminded by Ann Voskamp). Depend on Him through the “good” and the “bad” times.  He is Sovereign over both, and He can use both to grow us.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Matthew 6:34
    The Message (MSG)

    34″Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.

    God is ever faithful…loving, providing. Great reminders, today, to look back to see what He’s already done, and to trust in Him for the future, all the while savoring and being present in this day He’s given us.

    blessings
    jane

    October 5, 2011
    • Thanks, Jane. You’re right “being present in this day” is our goal. Delighting in Him in the little stuff. Thanks for your words.

      October 5, 2011

Leave a Reply

