Skip to content

In A Bad Place With A Good Friend

I called a friend this week and started the conversation this way:  If I were you, and this were me calling, I wouldn’t have answered the phone!

I am in a bad place, and I have a good friend.  

I’ve been in this bad spot before where life seems hard and overwhelming.  My words are negative, and my feelings are wounded.  I’m paranoid.  Spiritually, I’m on a roller-coaster, wrestling with God.  I feel it would be better to stay home because the ugliness of my life will just rub off on everyone.  The more I try to hold it in, the more it breaks through.  Struggling is where I am, and it can’t be wrapped with a pretty Christian bow that most would like to see.

What makes my friend good is her love for me and my struggle.  She’s not trying to make it right.  My rants do not frighten her or change her opinion of me.  She’s fine with knowing me, the one who is overwhelmed, negative, wounded.  It’s humbling to have a friend see the ugliness of your life and not walk away.

My friend and I were discussing isolation and the hows and whys of our withdrawing, and she pointed out something that has really caught my attention:

Sometimes we isolate ourselves, but sometimes, we push others into isolation.  When Christians are in a “bad place,” we don’t always want to deal with them, so we push them away.  We push them to isolation to work through their own “too hard, too negative, too draining” to deal with issues.

Transparency is what we ask for in the Church, but we have to decide if that’s what we really want.  Do you really want to know someone, and are you prepared to love them no matter what comes out?  We must be more careful in asking those around us to be transparent.  If not handled responsibly, we risk shutting them down, sending them into isolation.

Walking alongside someone in a bad place is what we have to be about — Seeing them through a tough time and not rejecting them just because their bad time doesn’t make us feel good.  I’m pretty sure I’m one step higher out of the pit because a good friend answered her phone in my bad place.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. sue #

    Thanks for that wonderful blog, I know exactly where you are at, and I too am blessed to have friends who are just there when you need them. God Bless you, and I pray whatever your going through will soon be sorted.

    November 10, 2011
    • Thanks, Sue. It’s a good reminder for us to endure and be an encouragement for others. We all will need it at some point.

      November 10, 2011
  2. Diane #

    What an amazing gift God has given you, your words challenge, encourage and minister to broken lives(like mine). Thank you for sharing the dark moments as well as the glorious ones. It reminds me that if we’re willing to share God gets the glory!

    November 11, 2011
    • Thanks, Diane. The dark ones aren’t as easy to share, but it’s only fair, right? Thanks for your encouragement!

      November 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

