Skip to content

A Lesson I Hope I’m Always Learning

Submission is a word that strikes all of us to the core, isn’t it?

I’ve recently gone through a time of ups and downs, what feels like waves of anger and fighting, and in the midst of it, I realized what I needed to do was lay down.  I wasn’t quite sure what the problem was, but I knew my answer was submission to God.  And, in doing that, I was convicted that what followed next was submitting to others.

Submission is a command that is quite contrary to the world, and scripture is laced with it.  Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ (Eph. 5:21).  Wives submit to your husbands (Eph. 5:22).  Submit yourselves to God (James 4:7).  Be subject for the Lord’s sake to every human institution (1 Peter 2:13).  For though I am free from all, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win more of them (1 Corinthians 9:19).

I have been given several gifts in submitting.  One is strength.  We tend to see submission as puny, as weak, but submission comes through the strength of Christ, which is the greatest of strengths.  Joy.  Although in coming down from my anger, I’ve been in a somber state, my joy has not been erased.  In submission, God is continually reminding me of his gospel, providing joy.  Relaxation.  If you have ever submitted your control, you know true relaxation — not the kind where you have coffee and a good book or cheese dip and a close football game — but the mindset  and heartset of relaxation.

Who would have ever thought that such a tense word could bring such immeasurable goodness?  That’s the nature of the gospel.  Contrary to the world.  Upside down. Better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

