Skip to content

You Can’t Have One Without The Other

For the first 25 years of my life, I was given “Moses.” I’ve never really liked to be told what to do. The rules made me angry. I couldn’t live up to them or follow them. I rebelled, fought, couldn’t submit and was enraged by the law.

In my mid 20s, I was given Jesus, and the difference was freedom.

Those years were not useless. If it weren’t for the law, I wouldn’t have known my need to be set free. If I didn’t know my inability to follow the law, I wouldn’t have been looking for the one who fulfilled it.

In thinking about my freedom this morning, I keep thinking about these verses… But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. (Ephesians 2:4-9)

He did it for us. We can’t be good enough.

John Stott says, “Some try to go to Jesus without first meeting Moses. They want to skip the Old Testament, to inherit the promise of justification in Christ without the prior pain of condemnation by the law. We need the law to lift off the lid of our respectability and disclose what we are really like underneath — sinful, rebellious, guilty, under the judgement of God and helpless to save ourselves. Not until the law has humbled us even to hell will we turn to the gospel to raise us to heaven.

There are some, however, who go to Moses and the law to be condemned and stay in this unhappy bondage. They are still living in the Old Testament. Their religion is a grievous yoke, hard to be borne. They have never gone to Christ to be set free.”

Stott describes two responses to God’s law and follows up with the question:

Which one tends to describe your life?

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh, so true… and so beautifully stated! Thank you for this awesome post!

    November 30, 2011
    • Thank you, Tara. John Stott’s Bible study on Galatians is very good. I’m doing it for the second time.

      November 30, 2011
  2. Aunt Miriam #

    I so much enjoy your blog, Suzanne. I am so grateful that God has given you the gift of being abe to discern His truths and then share them so beautifully through your writings! So proud to call you my niece! So thankful for the freedom we share in Christ! Love you!

    November 30, 2011
    • Aw, Thank you for reading and commenting on my blog, Aunt Miriam. I’m thankful for our freedom in Christ, too. It gives us a reason to be double-unified as family members and members of the Body.

      November 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

