Skip to content

Chicken & Corn Chowder

I can’t help myself from making soup/chowder this time of year.  If you’re looking for a new recipe in cold weather, this is pretty quick and easy.

Ingredients:

2 T extra virgin olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

2 medium potatoes (I used Idaho for baking, but you could use red). Bite-sized

2 cloves garlic, chopped small

1/4 C flour

4 C chicken stock

1 can corn

1 Rotisserie chicken

1 C half & half

Cook onion in olive oil until soft.  Add potatoes and cook about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Sprinkle flour over mixture and cook for one minute.  Add chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Drop to low heat and simmer until potatoes are softened.  Add corn and shredded chicken until heated through.  Remove from heat and add cream.  Add salt/pepper/paprika to taste.

Instead of buying chicken stock, I’ve started using Better Than Bouillon Organic Chicken Base.  You can find it at Costco for less than this Amazon price.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Miriam #

    Sounds delish!😃

    January 14, 2012
  2. Tara #

    I made this tonight! I didn’t have exactly all of the right ingredients, but it still turned out delicious! I didn’t have chicken stock, so I used boullion cubes and water instead. Also, used regular chicken breast meat (not rotisserie). Thanks for sharing!

    January 14, 2012
    • Oh, that’s great! I’m glad you liked it. I just use rotisserie because it’s the easy way out, well, I guess it adds a lot of flavor, too, but mostly, it’s easy.

      January 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

