Skip to content

Overwhelmed and Forgetful

“I used to have a handle on life but it broke.”

At 6:30 p.m. last Thursday, I looked across the dinner table at my 10-year-old, searching her sweet face as I often do and made my way to her braces realizing she had a dentist appointment AT 2:40 p.m. THAT DAY! I just shook my head and dropped it down because this has been the story of my life for quite some time now.

This is not only the story of my life but the story of most women in my life. Try as we may to hide it, we cannot do it all! I hear it from moms all of the time — I forgot to turn to in my child’s science project. My child has been sick, and I totally missed the signs. I can’t be there to help at my child’s school. These statements are laced with guilt and shame, but they are mostly hidden until we feel safe enough to share.

In light of this, I’ve been asked two questions lately that I’d like to share:

Weekly, I meet with Katie. She is a newlywed. She has asked the question How do you do it all? And, because I am pouring buckets of wisdom into Katie, my response to her is (drumroll) I don’t. I know. Very anti-climatic.

My laundry piles up so high that my closet stinks. We eat frozen pizza at least once a week. I forget dentist appointments unless my kids remind me. My preschooler only takes show-n-tell if he remembers. I can’t recall everyday, common words at least once a day. All of my children have already had cavities. I forget to take medicine, drink water, turn off the oven and pray.

The truth is, I never really had a handle on life. It was only a figment of my imagination.

The other question has been asked by a few: I am so overwhelmed; what is God trying to teach me? Again, I have a mind-blowing answer, I don’t know. Tweetable, right?

I do know that we must, in every circumstance, big or small, realize our deep need for our Savior. Whatever drives us to God is not wasted. And, maybe it’s just me, but believing that God will not give us more than we can handle seems to be contrary to what we’re called to. Why wouldn’t he give us more than we can handle when he is the source everything? Everything. We must have him to handle anything. Anything. The circumstance you’re in may be more than you can handle, but it will not exceed His grace.

So, be overwhelmed. Be forgetful. Let it drive you down.

Then, be overwhelmed by the kindness of the Savior who is always is control, never-forgetting and abounding in grace.

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lanette #

    This post came at the perfect time for me. Thank you!

    March 12, 2012
    • I’m glad, Lanette. It’s nice to know we’re not alone. It takes some of the pressure off.

      March 12, 2012
  2. Lori #

    Hey… your post reminds me of this one: http://momastery.com/blog/2012/01/04/2011-lesson-2-dont-carpe-diem/
    Another great Mama just doing her best.

    Thanks, as always, for sharing!

    March 12, 2012
    • Thanks, Lori. I’m glad you linked her post. I read it when she posted and loved it. Fortunately, I have Sarah to keep me in line most of the time.

      March 12, 2012
  3. Julie #

    Good word Suzanne! I sing the same song.

    March 12, 2012
    • Thanks, Julie. With the response from this morning, I think we could start a support group. 🙂

      March 12, 2012
  4. This is great, Suzanne. I’m glad so many moms are starting to say those amazing three words. “I don’t know.” It’s so comforting to know we aren’t the only ones.

    March 12, 2012
  5. Wow!! I feel this way all of the time. Everyday. Thanks for the encouragement to just say, “I don’t know.” So much freedom in Jesus!

    March 12, 2012
    • There is definitely freedom in knowing I don’t have to know the answers and in knowing that when I forget again it will be okay. Thanks, Jocelyn.

      March 12, 2012
  6. veronica #

    The other day I read this in Jesus Calling…”Because I am infinite all My ways, you need not fear that I will run out of resources. ABUNDANCE is at the very heart of who I am. Come to Me in joyful expectation of receiving all you need…and sometimes much more!” Psalm 36:7-9 says “How precious is Your lovingkindness, O God. Therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of Your wings. They are ABUNDANTLY satisfied with the fullness of Your house, and you give them drink from the river of Your pleasures.”

    March 28, 2012
    • Great words, Vern. Thanks for sharing. When I’m feeling overwhelmed, and I am today, abundance would be a great word to focus on. “Infinite in all my ways…”

      March 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

