Skip to content

Our Ever-Hovering God

I can relate very much with the father of the demon-possessed boy when he said, “I believe; help my unbelief!” I refer to myself as a believer, but I struggle with unbelief.

God’s promises are true. They are clear. So used are they in this part of the country, we find them trite and often meaningless.

Two of God’s promises have been impressed greatly on my life this year. I think it happens that way. God has chosen this particular time in my life for these truths to have more meaning. I hope I don’t lose the seriousness of what he is teaching once this time passes.

Never will I leave you. Moses reminded Joshua. (Deuteronomy 31:7-8) David encouraged his son Solomon. (1 Chronicles 28:20) The author of Hebrews reiterated the truth, this time concerning contentment. (Hebrews 13:5) Perhaps no promise is greater in all of scripture. The fact that the God, who holds all things in his hands, never leaves us should be completely overwhelming. In the Old Testament, we learn this truth should keep us from being afraid and dismayed. It should make us strong and give us courage, help us complete the tasks God has called us to. In Hebrews, we learn the presence of God means that God is enough. He is enough to make us content with what we have.

You belong to me.  I have called you by name, you are mine. (Isaiah 43:1) I can scarce wrap my mind around this truth, yet the comfort, confidence and endurance it breeds is powerful. Those who are in Christ belong to God. Nothing can shake that promise.

The promises God gave to his beloved, chosen Israel have been given to his beautiful bride, the Church. When I look back over the ways I tried so hard to do good and be good, then gave up in frustration, I see clearly that was never the point. Just like the Israelites who couldn’t live up to the Law, I needed/need to see my need for Jesus; we’re all always being pointed to the Savior. God hovered over them as a cloud and a pillar of fire because he promised to never leave and because they belonged to him. And, he hovers over us for the same reasons. We can’t keep ourselves in him. He keeps us in him. He is faithful. He keeps his promises. He keeps his covenant with us.

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword?  As it is written,

“For your sake we are being killed all the day long;
we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.”

 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:35-39)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

