Skip to content

I love you, I’m just not…

“I love you, I’m just not in love with you” is one of my favorite quotes to use — if I’m talking about food. I’ve just never quite known what to do with those words, but today, I’m grateful for the much-used statement. It helped shock a little sense into me when I replaced one word in the sentence: Believe

I believe you. I just don’t believe in you.

Throughout the book of John, that little word “in” makes a big difference.

“And, his disciples believed in him.” John 2:11

“Now when he was in Jerusalem at the Passover Feast, many believed in his name.” John 2:23

“Many Samaritans from that town believed in him.” John 4:39

“This is the work of God that you believe in him whom he has sent.” John 6:29

“For not even his brothers believed in him.” John 7:5

What is the difference between believing him and believing in him?

I believe you (head), and I put my faith in you (heart). Both are needed.

It’s not enough to believe the words and never throw our lives full-fledged into the arms of Christ. We must put our faith in him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

