Skip to content

Scooters Are Not For Quitters

For physical education today, Abby and I took a walk; she rode her scooter. We went down a new street with a new hill, and you know how new hills beckon a 9-year-old on a scooter… She couldn’t resist. Momentum was high, hair was flowing, and you guessed it! Arms and legs went flying! Screaming and crying, Abby got up from the ground and diagnosed, “Mommy, I think I broke my arm!”

I was proud of Abby when she was soaring down the hill. Honestly, I didn’t know if she would fall or not. In the moment, I was just glad she wasn’t afraid, and it was encouraging to watch her try something new. But, best of all was the walk home. After the screaming and crying, bleeding and swelling, she climbed back on her scooter and rode home. It wasn’t easy. Her knees hurt. Her [broken] arm was “quitting” on her. She struggled, but she didn’t give up.

Want to know the worst thing about homeschooling? (Hang in. I’m going somewhere with this).

I have no idea what I’m doing. I’m going really fast down a big hill. I haven’t taken a big tumble yet (4 days in), but there has already been some crying. I’m pretty sure screaming, bleeding and swelling aren’t far behind. I know for sure that I will have to get up and keep going, when I do fall, because I have 9-year-old (who is full of endurance) counting on me.

The Lord is my strength and my shield;
in him my heart trusts, and I am helped;
my heart exults,
and with my song I give thanks to him. Psalm 28:7

The Lord provides strength. The Lord provides endurance. And, his provision is sufficient. I’ve been reminded greatly of these truths over the last few days. I may be a terrible PE teacher, but I’m going to keep showing up no matter how hard it gets.

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

20130108-140834.jpg

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mackenzi #

    Showing up clueless with you! 🙂

    January 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

