Skip to content

First Things First

“First thing at my desk, I make a list of all the fun things I get to do later. Then I get to work. Makes the work easier.”

Author of “Blue Like Jazz,” Donald Miller, posted these words on Twitter a couple of weeks ago. They have gone a long way with my 9-year-old who loves to have fun. We are on our second full week of homeschooling, and every morning before we start, we look ahead.

We look ahead at what we get to do for fun.

We write that one thing down.

We put our heads down and work hard.

Discipline is our theme.

(In our peripheral vision we can see what we’ve written down).

We check-off our list as we go.

Then, we have fun!

(And, sometimes our work is fun, too).

The motto of looking ahead to fun is encouraging us to work hard — for now anyway!

20130114-124409.jpg

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Miriam joslin #

    Great idea! I always am motivated when I can check things off my list. It gives me a sense of accomplishment that leads to a confidence that Jesus and I together can get it done! Have fun learning together! Praying for great things to happen in both of your lives.

    January 14, 2013
    • Thank you! Sometimes I even write down things I’ve already done just so I can put a check by them. 🙂 We appreciate the prayers.

      January 14, 2013

Leave a Reply

