Skip to content

What We’re Taking In

I love summer!

I love for my kids to be out of school. A slower schedule, sleeping in and choosing what we “take in” recharges life. Sometimes, the things of this world consume us, and we consume right back. Summer seems to be a good time to unplug, retreat, reflect and consume extra time with God…

Probably the most meaningful activity we’ve done together is reading. I know, sounds boring. Sarah, who turned 12 this summer, will make it sound a little better to you:

During the summer, my family and I have read “One Great Purpose.” The book is about a missionary named Jim Elliot and his four friends, Nate Saint, Ed McCully, Pete Fleming and Roger Youderian. Together, they carried out a mission that no one had ever accomplished before. Teaching the Auka Indians about Jesus. They raised their families in Ecuador. Their goal was to share God’s Word with wild indians who speared every foreigner in their path. When the men felt like they had shown the Aukas that they were their friends, the Aukas turned on them and killed them. From this story, the most remarkable part to me was that the five men had guns with them but they refused to fire them because they didn’t want them to die without knowing God. Jim Elliot said, “He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose.” It means we cannot keep our lives, but we gain Jesus within us. The great thing is that their families didn’t just pack up their things and leave when their husbands died. They lived with the people who killed them and changed their lives forever. They taught a whole tribe that killing is not right but that Jesus is the only way to live eternally in heaven. After teaching them that, they said there were more grandfathers than there had ever been in that tribe. The man who killed Nate Saint became like a grandfather to Nate Saint’s grandchildren. The thing is, don’t let a bump in the road hold you back from something God is telling you to do.

Y’all this is the first time I’ve read what she wrote. I think I need to run to my bedroom and cry for a while. May these children never lose sight of what God had impressed on their malleable hearts this summer, and may I.

http://www.amazon.com/Jim-Elliot-Purpose-Christian-Heroes/dp/1576581462/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1373645929&sr=8-1&keywords=one+great+purpose+jim+elliot

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ann C. #

    Always have loved the story of the Elliots and wise words from Sarah!

    July 12, 2013
  2. Oh wow! So awesome, Sarah. I love what the Lord taught you through Jim Eliot’s story. And, you’ve inspired me! My kids and I read YWAM’s biography of Nate Saint not too long ago. I think I’ll have them do some writing about it too!

    July 12, 2013
    • Thanks, Jocelyn, for your encouragement. I’ll pass it on to Sarah. By the way, I could eat up that baby of yours. Love seeing pictures on Facebook.

      July 13, 2013
      • Just got caught up on your blog again. It’s always encouraging! I love seeing your life so many years after your marriage’s redemption. We’ve been walking out that journey for 2.5 years now and sometimes it is still surreal. There’s something about seeing blogs of other families who have “made it” by God’s grace that makes us know what we’ve experienced is truly real!

        And, yes, we think our baby is pretty great 🙂 We can’t get enough of all those rolls either! 20 pounds at 4 months old. LOL!

        August 1, 2013
  3. Miriam joslin #

    Awesome, Sarah! Love this story! I am so proud of all of you! Hugs!

    July 13, 2013
    • We love this story, too. I’m hoping Sarah will take on some of my writing responsibilities. 🙂

      July 14, 2013

Leave a Reply

