Skip to content

On A Journey With Dyslexia

Dyslexia is difficult, so I’m gathering. I don’t know this to be true personally. As a matter of fact, my degree is in English Education. I’m decent with reading and spelling — exactly where those struggling with dyslexia suffer. What I’ve learned is that saying to my 10-year-old, “You spell it exactly the way it sounds,” means nothing to her. She hears sounds differently.

We’ve been on a journey since kindergarten to find out why Abby learns differently. If you’re a parent, you may have said, “I know something is wrong; I just can’t put my finger on it.” That’s exactly how I felt. Every year, her teachers told us everything was fine — until 3rd grade.

And, then, Mr. Carmichael.

(He gets his own line. You should also envision rays of light around his name.)

To make a long story short (and I will fill in the gaps later on why we decided to home school), we decided to home school in January. We have continued this fall and added a dyslexia tutoring program.

This is a big ol’ roller-coaster, people. We have GREAT days and HARD days. But, I am beginning to see a glimmer of hope, AND IT’S NOT BECAUSE OF THE GREAT DAYS!

Yesterday, my 10-year-old had a tough time spelling out a 3 letter word and had a headache by the time we finished 30 minutes of work. This work is hard on her brain! And, it’s hard on my heart! But because of the hard, I know it’s working. I can see the benefit of what this program is going to do because God is gracious in giving us glimpses of good through our pain.

We have a long road.

Abby has had to make a lot of adjustments. I have faced quite a bit of sadness, despair, guilt and loneliness. I have good friends who have helped a lot and listened to way too many complaints. I feel sure those days are not dead and gone, but…

God is faithful.

He is conquering the complaints, loneliness, guilt, despair and sadness. He is providing help, answers and direction. With every trial, my heart is being strengthened, and with every skill, Abby’s brain is being strengthened. He is giving hope.

Dyslexia may continue to be difficult, but it has been, is being and will be redeemed.

Why am I sharing?

1. 2 Corinthians 1:4 — I’m not the only one in this situation. There are other families who need support, comfort.

2. I have permission. I asked Abby if I could share. Hopefully, she will be able to pass on the same comfort in the future.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. I have a 10yo dyslexic/dysgraphic……I’m sooooooooo with ya Sista

    We have used a phonics based multi sensory for 3years now and by George we are on track! We are reading at just about par, although we still…..well…spelling and writing is…..uhm yea, you know..lacking

    September 27, 2013
    • It’s always comforting to know we’re not alone. We’re having a really good week, an that’s helping. 🙂

      October 2, 2013
  2. Greetings in the Lord. I have been very busy for the past year and had not dropped by. Now I see this post and am glad I did. Quite a year for you as a family and personally. I am glad that in the midst of the hard times God is extending grace to you and Abby. What a blessing to have a mother respond as you have. Continued blessings in Christ.

    Roch

    October 2, 2013
    • Thank you for the kind and encouraging words. It has been quite a year. I’m glad to be moving toward a place of gratitude and excitement about where we’re headed.

      October 2, 2013
  3. It is a very exciting journey. The tough days will pay off tremendously! WE are in our third year of homeschooling. I have one kiddo with dyslexia/dysgraphia and one with dysgraphia. We are loving it.

    October 3, 2013
    • Thank you for the encouragement. It doesn’t happen every day, but I am beginning to wake up excited some days. It goes a long way – much longer than waking up with the feeling of defeat. I’m looking forward to seeing great progress.

      October 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

