Skip to content

Am I Really Happy? Am I Really Sad?

I’m still thinking through this one.

About rejoicing and mourning…

Last week, we gave one of our children a gift. We didn’t have a reason. We love her. That’s all. And, okay, we got the idea from The 5 Love Languages of Teenagers/Children by Gary Chapman.

We didn’t give the other two gifts. Their “day of no reason but love” will come.

One of the two handled the event very well, helping to wrap the gift and showing great excitement for the receiver. The other child did not handle the event so well. Let’s just say there was a bit of a melt down, a few tears, and maybe a stomp or two.

I know some of you would become enraged at this point, and I don’t know when I became this person, but I could barely hold in my laughter. So, after the sulker and I gathered ourselves, we launched into a discussion:

Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep. Romans 12:15

I wonder if it’s easier for us to weep with those who weep because we don’t want the lot they’ve been given.

Maybe we struggle to celebrate with those who are celebrating because of jealousy.

I wonder if it’s easier to rejoice with those who rejoice because we don’t want weeping to get in our way (like me with my sad child in the above story).

Sometimes we’re quick to join the mourners only to look like the hero.

Are we truly happy when something goes well for others?

On the other hand, are we truly grieved when it doesn’t?

Verse 9 of the same chapter in Romans says, “Let love be genuine.”

May we be genuinely celebratory with our friends when they receive an expected or unexpected gift.

May we truly hurt when they are hurting.

As I keep reading back in this chapter, all of these issues seem to “fix” themselves…

every one among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think (3)

present your bodies as a living sacrifice (1)

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Karen Rehkopf #

    This is just wonderful, such a fresh perspective for me on this matter! Thank you for sharing specifically how it is applied in the life of your family. And if this is what you consider still working it out, I can’t wait to see what else is working here!

    October 31, 2013
    • Thank you. I just know there are angles I am missing. I need to think on it more. Let me know what you come up with, too. 🙂

      November 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

